INTERVISTA ALL’ATTORE E BODYBUILDER: BARRY DUFFIELD – LUGO NELLA SERIE SPARTACUS

Q : Thank you for taking the time to sit down and do this interview, Mr Duffield, for who don’t know you….(it’s possible?) …please tell us where are you from? How old are you and where do you live?

A: Hello, I was born in 1962, Billingham, UK. But immigrated to Australia with my family in 1969 and they settled in the Bauxite mining town of Nhulunbuy, Northern Territory. Today, I’m 52 and I live in Auckland, NZ. Although I am Australian.

Q: when you started lifting weight and why?

A: I started lifting in 1985. My brother-in-law from my first wife was into weights and I saw the changes he was making. I picked up my first weight and I’ve been obsessed since then.

Q: How you discover the bodybuilding/fitness world?

A: I went to a gym in Darwin, NT, Australia and the bodybuilding culture opened up around me, a dream!.

Q: Why did you get involved in action movies?

A: I’m not just involved in action movies; I am involved in making great entertainment regardless of the genre’.

Q: Your currest movies history?

A: Straight after Spartacus and my return from LA I did a small, but pivotal role on a film called Field Punishment Number One. I’m also a screenwriter, so I’ve been in development on several of my own projects and my first graphic novel ‘Deadman’s Land’ is going to be released this year. My training website www.arenamuscle.com is now live.

Q: How long do you train? And how do you train?

Check out www.arenamuscle.com for all of these answers and more. I go into everything in detail on the site. I can tell you that at 52 I still train heavy, but never sacrifice form for weight, and I train each body part once a week, but always change the days.

Q: What exercises do you feel are the most effective when it comes to
build muscles?

A: Compound movements build mass and my routines always radiate out from at least one compound movement. These days I’ll start with an isolation movement to create a neural connection before hitting it hard.

Q. And for your part into “SPARTCUS”, in the role of LUGO, how you do you training? It’s differents from your normals workouts? And how?

A: My weights routine remained the same and I added HIIT training to stay lean. HIIT also worked well because it only required 20 minutes a day to achieve great results.

Q: you look like really big, for an Actor, and on “Spartacus” you look one of the bigger guys in, full and striated, it was hard to play this part?

A: I’ve been training since 1985 and this gave me a solid base. Now I can play with my bodyweight by simply manipulating my calorie intake. I’ve taken my total weight down to around 80 kgs if the role required it. Every role has it’s own challenges, Lugo was no different. He was certainly one of my favourites, along with Kevin Rydell on Street Legal.

Q: What is the diet you must follow to active the goal to look like LUGO?

A: I’m on a variation of the Paleo diet; high protein/high fat. Check out Arena Muscle and you’ll get the entire breakdown.

Q: you miss the TV series?

I miss the Spartacus family; every one of them.

Q: What do you think the biggest mistake people make when it comes to train ?

A: Over training and no idea of nutrition. Nutrition is 80% of the battle. “The potter can’t create the pot without clay” Nutrition is the clay for creating growth.

Q: Do you like superheroes? Have you ever thought of doing an audition for a Marvel movie? there would be at least 3 or 4 higher r heroes where you would be perfect?

A: I don’t rule out anything, but “they” make that call – Somewhere a little Barry waits 🙂

Q: we will review other roles in action or are you search like all American players maybe to see you again on the screen in a new guise? And when?

A I’m up for a couple of things, but we don’t discuss those until the cameras roll.

Q: What is the bodybuilding, for you?

A: Lifestyle.

Q: What is your advice for the younger bodybuilder who looks up to you?

A: Listen to everything, learn, use what works for you. It’s all trial and error. Be nutrition savvy; it will change your life.

Q: If you had to choose one moment in your career, what would you say was your most memorable?

A: Spartacus red carpet premier and America in general. My goal is to be a US citizen and I am working toward that dream.

Q:What are the funniest ,on strange or walk around maybe, responses people give you when they see someone as huge and shredded like you walk down the streets?

A: Usually concern, until we meet and they realise that I am so much more than just the sum of my parts.

Q: Thanks to be here, befere we end this , you want thanks anyone in particular?

My mom and dad – Thanks for the great genetics and the solid work ethics. My wife; she is my one, my only, my everything.

Thanks, Vittorio. 
Cheers,
Barry:- )

————————————-

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO

————————————-


D:Grazie per aver trovato il tempo fra i suoi impegni  di sedersi e fare questa intervista con me,  signor Duffield, per chi non lo sa… per favore dicci dove sei? Quanti anni ha e dove vive?


Salve a tutti! Sono nato a Billingham, UK. Ma sono immigrato con la mia famiglia in Australia nel 1969. Oggi ho 52anni  e vivo a Auckland, NZ. Anche se sono Australiano.

D: Quando ha iniziato con il culturismo e perché?

Ho iniziato a sollevare nel 1985 mio “fratello”dalla mia prima moglie che era appassionato di pesi e ho visto i cambiamenti che stava avendo.E così ho preso il mio primo peso e sono stato ossessionato da allora!

D: Come ha scoperto il mondo del bodybuilding / fitness?

Sono andato in una palestra a Darwin, NT, Australia e la cultura del bodybuilding si è dispiegata intorno a me! Un sogno!

D: Come è stato coinvolto nei film d’azione?

Non sono solo coinvolto in film d’azione; Sono coinvolto nel fare grande divertimento a prescindere dal genere.

D: La sua storia cinematografica fin ora?

Subito dopo Spartacus e il mio ritorno da Los Angeles ho fatto un ruolo piccolo, ma fondamentale in un film intitolato “Field Punishment Number One” (inedito in Italia). Sono anche uno sceneggiatore, così sto sviluppando molti dei miei progetti e la mia prima graphic novel ‘Deadman’s Land” che vedrà la luce quest’anno. E finalmente il mio sito di allenamento specializzato è on-line www.arenamuscle.com!

D: Quanto tempo si allena? E come si allena?

Per maggiori informazioni vi riamndo al mio sito www.arenamuscle.com dove posos essere più specifico e dilungarmi maggiormente. In breve posso dirvi che a 52 mi alleno ancora pesante, ma mai sacrificando la forma per il peso,  e alleno ogni parte del corpo una volta alla settimana, ma sempre cambiando i giorni!

Q: Quali esercizi  sono i più efficaci quando si tratta di costruire i muscoli velocemnte come nel caso di un attore come lei?

Io credo nei movimenti composti per costruire massa e la mia routine è sempre formata da alemno un movimento composto. Inizio comunque sempre con movimento di isolamento per creare una connessione neurale prima di colpire duro i pesi.

D. E per la sua parte in “SPARTCUS”, nel ruolo di LUGO, come si è preparato? E ‘differents dai suoi normali allenamenti? E come?

Il mio peso in routine è rimasto lo stesso e ho aggiunto solo una formazione HIIT per rimanere più magro. il metodo HIIT ha anche lavorato bene e si legava bene con le riprese perché è richiesto solo 20 minuti al giorno per ottenere buoni risultati.

D: Come attore, lei è davvero grosso e in “Spartacus” è sicuramente uno dei ragazzi più grossi in scena, pieno e striato, è stato difficile interpretare questa parte essendo così?

Mi alleno dal 1985 e questo mi ha dato una base solida. Ora posso giocare con il mio peso corporeo, semplicemente manipolando il mio apporto calorico. In realtà non ero così enorme. Ho portato il mio peso totale  a circa 80 kg perchè il ruolo lo richiedeva. Ogni ruolo ha le proprie sfide, Lugo non era diverso. E ‘stato sicuramente uno dei miei preferiti, insieme a Kevin Rydell su Street Legal.

D: Qual è la dieta si deve seguire per impersonare e mantenere la forma che ha mostrato nella porte di LUGO?

Una variazione della dieta Paleo; ricca di proteine ​​ad alto contenuto di grassi.Sempre sul mio sito mi dilungo abbondantemente anche su questo: www.arenamuscle.com!

D: Le manca la serie tv?

Mi manca la “famiglia” di Spartacus; ognuno di loro.

D: Un errore importante per lei, che vede commettere a chi sia avvicina al mondo dei pesi per i primi anni?

Nel corso della formazione non hanno nessuna idea della nutrizione. La nutrizione è l’80% della battaglia. Dico sempre: “un vaso non può essere creato senza l’argilla”. La nutrizione è l’argilla per la creazione della crescita.

D: a mai pensato di fare un provino per qualche film sui supereroi della Marvel?

Io non escludo nulla, ma “loro” potrebbero aver fatto quella chiamata – Da qualche parte un “piccola” parte per Barry aspetta 🙂

D: La rivedremo altri ruoli in azione o siete cercando, come tutti gli attori americani magari di vedervi di nuovo sullo schermo in una nuova veste? E quando?

Bè sarò per un paio di film, ma non discuto di questo per scaramanzia fino a quandonon sarò pronto a girare ; -)

D: Cos’è  il bodybuilding, per lei?

Uno stile di vita.

D: Qual è il tuo consiglio per un giovane bodybuilder più giovane che guarda a voi come fonte di ispirazione?

Ascolta di tutto, imparare, usare quello che funziona per voi. E  fate tutto per tentativi ed errori. Imparate bene molto sulla nutrizione; ciò cambierà la vostra vita.

D: Se dovesse scegliere un momento nella sua carriera, quele direbbe è stata la tua più memorabile?

La premier sul red carpet di Spartacus e come l’idea è stata accolta dell’ America in generale. Il mio obiettivo è anche quello di essere un cittadino degli Stati Uniti e sto lavorando verso quel sogno.

D: Di solito che reazione ha la gente comune quando la vede in giro per strada?

Solitamente preoccupazione, fino a quando ci incontriamo e si rendono conto che io sono molto di più che la semplice somma delle mie parti.

D: Grazie di essere stato qui, finendo questa intervista, vuole ringraziare qualcuno in particolare?

Mia mamma e papà – Grazie per la grande genetica e l’etica morale del lavoro solido che mi hanno trasmesso. Mia moglie; lei è la mia anima, solo mia, il mio tutto.

Saluti a te Vittorio,
Barry

