Intervista a Alfonso del Rio – IFBB PRO

Q: Hello Alfonso, let’s us introduce you to those who do not know you yet and are visiting this site….Tell us your name and something about yourself, please…?

My name’s Alfonso del Río Valencia, I’m 33 years old, I was born in Tarifa, a village of Cadiz (Spain). I began working out at the age of 20 years old.

Q : Can you tell us your success during your competition years?

My best place in a competition was a fifth place in the lastest European Pro Show (11th September 2010).

Q : When did you first started training for Bodybuilding and why?

I began working out when I was 20 years old because a got a bodybuilding magazine and I was attracted to him.

Q: During your bodybuilding career, was there a moment in which you wanted or wished to give up and dedicate yourself to something else? Or Bodybuilding is your only and biggest passion?

Yes. At the beginning, above all, but sometime later I got some good, results in Spain, and it incouraged me a lot to go on.

Q: What is bodybuilding for you?

it’s the only thing I do, and I live for it.

Q: did you have an idol when you was kid?..like Arnold, Lou..etc, to whom you looked up to..to follow?

At the beginning I quite like Dorian and now I like Jay Cutler a lot.

Q: What is the training style for a champion like yourself?

For great groups of muscles 25 series and for small groups between 18 to 20 series, and within the trainning I do superseries and other exercises apart to increase my weight.

Q : Which is the muscular group that you really enjoy training on?

The ones I like the most are the chest exercises.

Q : Let’s talk about the nutritional aspect, what is the big difference in the type of diet that you follow during an upcoming competition preparation ?

Related to nutrition, in competition times I never let the diet at all and I also limit the quantity of carbs. In no-competition times I increase the carbs and I don’t follow the diet for two or three days.

Q: During your career in Bodybuilding, did your family support you, incourage you on? And during the Contests, do they cheer you?

Of course, all my family (including my wife’s) and friends support me.

Q: Have you ever been in Italy and have you ever met any of our Italian Bodybuilders ? If yes, what do you think about them?

I’ve never been in Italy before but I know the Italian pro bodybuilder Daniele Seccarecci. I personally think you are ( i think about bodybuilding) in as similar level as the one we’got in Spain. Talking about amateur level there’re strong people everywhere, but obviously the strongest ones are pro and there’s only a pro list and this is in U.S.A.

Q: Which part of the bodybuilding lifestyle you prefer? Training? Travel and meet more people? Competititons? Fans?


I enjoy when I train, I also like travelling and I have a special feeling when everybody recognizes me everywhere I go, and when people admire and look me up. I think this happens because people feel that I’m doing my best, and because things are being well done.

Q : If any of our members and/or visitors would like to meet you or get in contact with you…where and how can they do that?

Through my facebook and e-mail alfonsodelrio20@hotmail.com. I own a gym in Madrid, addressed C/ Abtao 20. 28007 Madrid, phone:+34914336866.

Q : Do you have any new competitions planned for the next agnostic year?

I’m going to take a long rest for the whole next year 2011 to keep improving.

Q : Thank you very much for spending some time with us through this interview and hope that someday we’ll see you in Italy as well, perhaps as a guest star during an event.

I hope to go to Italy one day. It would be a great honour.

____________________

Traduzione in Italiano

____________________

Q: Salve Alfonso, per chi non ti conosce, puoi dirci qualcosa su di te ?

Mi chiamo Alfonso Del Rio Valencia, ho 33 anni. Sono nato a Tarifa, un villaggio di Cadiz (Spagna). Ho cominciato ad allenarmi al eta’ di 20 anni.

Q: Ci parli un pò della tua carriera come Bodybuilder?

La miglior posizione che ho ottenuto in una gara è stato il quinto posto agl’ultimi European Pro Show (11 Settembre 2010). Come amtore ho vinto varie gare WABBA, NABBA e IFBB, naturalmente.

Q: Ci puoi dire quando hai iniziato ad allenarti? E perchè?

Molto semplice in realtà, ho cominciato ad allenarmi quando avevo 20 anni, leggendo una rivista di Bodybuilding e mi e’ piacuto subito.

Q: c’è stato un momento dove avrebbe voluto lasciar perdere tutto? Oppure mai pensato di abbandonare il bodybuilding?


Si. Al inizio soprattutto, ma un po’ di tempo dopo, ho ottenuto dei buoni risultati in Spagna e mi ha incoraggiato molto per andare avanti.

Q: cos’è il bodybuilding per te? E’ la tua più grande passione?


Si, e’ l’unica cosa che faccio e vivo solo per quello.

Q: Avevi un eroe da piccolo, magari legato al mondo del Bodybuilding?

All’ inizio, mi piaceva Dorian e ora mi piace molto Jay Cutler.

Q: Ci racconti un pò di come ti alleni?

Per grandi gruppi muscolari 25 serie e per gruppi piu’ piccoli tra 18 e 20 serie, e durante l’allenamento, faccio superserie e altri esercizi a parte per aumentare il mio peso.

Q: C’ è un gruppo muscolare che preferisci allenare?

Mi piacciono molto l’esercizi per i pettorali 🙂

Q: parliamo ora dell’aspetto nutrizionale, segui lo stesso tipo di alimentazione in entrambi i periodi di pre gara o off season ?


In quanto alla nutrizione non abbandono la dieta e limito anche le quantita’ di carbo. Durante l’offseason, aumento i carbo e non seguo la dieta per due o tre giorni.

Q: La tua famiglia? come vede questo mondo? E’ sempre stata al suo finco a tifare per te?

Certo, tutta la mia famiglia (incluso mia moglie) e amici che mi incoraggiano, sempre 🙂

Q: Sei mai stato in Italia o hai conosciuto e incontrato, magari sul palco, alcuni bodybuilders Italiani?

Non sono mai stato in Italia prima pero’ conosco un Pro Bodybuilder italiano Daniele Seccarecci. Personalmente penso che voi siate allo stesso livello che abbiamo noi in Spagna. Parlando del livello amatoriale, ci sono persone forti da per tutto, ma ovviamente i piu’ forti sono i PRO e c’è solo una Pro list e questa sta in USA. 😉

Q: cosa ti piace di più della vita del bodybuilder?

Mi diverto quando mi alleno, mi piace anche viaggare and mi sento fiero quando mi riconoscono ovunque vado e quando la gente mi ammira. Penso che questo succede perchè la gente sente che faccio del mio meglio e che magari le faccio bene.

Q: Se i nostri utenti volessero incontrarti o parlare con te, dove possono trovarti?

Tramite il mio Facebook e la mia mail alfonsodelrio20@hotmail.com Ho anche la mia palestra a Madrid, l’indirizzo e’ C/ Abtao 20. 28007 Madrid. Phone number: +34914336866.

Q: Quest’anno? Su quali palchi e in che gare potremo vederti?

Mi prenderò una lunga pausa per l’anno 2011 per migliorare 🙂

Q: grazie mille per aver passato un po’ di tempo con noi tramite questa intervista e speriamo di vederla un giorno anche in Italia, magari anche per una esibizione?

Spero di venire in Italia qualche giorno…sarebbe un onore !

1 commento su “Intervista a Alfonso del Rio – IFBB PRO”

I commenti sono chiusi.