Gergő Bognár – Hungarina Bodybuilder Champ

First of all, thank you for accepting our invitation to be interviewed by our Italian Bodybuilding website. As one of the great Junior Champ like you, it is our pleasure to have you here.
 


Q : Let’s us introduce you to those who do not know you yet and are visiting this site….Tell us your name and something about yourself…please:)

 
First of all, it is me who want to thank you the opportunity and I send my regards to all of my Italian fans and bodybuilders. I love Italy and had great experiences from 2008. Well, my name is Gergő Bognár. I’ve just turned to 24 and I have been training for 10 years by now. I’ve been competing since 2004 which was my first competitive season. I’m 4 times Mr.Junior Hungary, also winner of the Trofeo Due Torri 2008 Junior Category and two times Junior World champion in the WABBA and IBFA, where I won the overall Mr.World title as well. These are my main titles.


Q : Can you tell us your success during your bodybuilding years?

 
As I mentioned my first season was in 2004. That time I won the Junior Hungarian nationals, placed third in 75kg at the big nationals. Then in the following year, I won the Junior again, and also in the nationals in 80kg. I was 19 years old then. In 2006, I only competed at one competition, called Superbody where I took the Overall title at the age of 20. This was a unique win, because usually bodybuilders over their thirties win the overall, and not a competitor from the Junior category. One person did it before me, who is now an IFBB Pro, Németh István, who better known as Steve Namat. Then I took a year off to gain more mass as I do now, and competed in 2008. I won the IBFA World Champion Overall and of course I took the junior title as well as I did in 2009 at the WABBA in the Super J class. In the last years in Hungary I don’t compete in Junior category because it doesn’t motivate me as much as it did over my younger years. So I step on stage in the open class, where usually Daniel Tóth wins – I think you know who he is – so in these years I had to satisfy with lower places but it motivates me much more to compete against world class athletes. 


Q : Can you tell us which is the most important competition result for you?

I think my last two, the IBFA Mr.World title and my two Junior world champion titles. I like to remember my 2006 win as well at the Superbody because that was the year when I aroused some of my present sponsors’ interests.

 


Q: What is the training style for a champion like yourself?

I usually train 5-6 times a week, and give pressure to my weak points twice a week. For the big bodyparts I usually do 5-6 exercises, and for my smaller bodyparts 3-4. It could be interesting that I don’t train the arms. They are big enough – now it’s 53-54cm – and don’t want to overpower my back delts and my overall physic. These trainings are tough, hardcore trainings not some playing in the gym. I usually train with high intensity but I don’t mean with the HIT training program what Dorian did, although I love his style and training regiment. Often do supersets and giant sets what Milos Sarcev do with his pro client and use 4-5 sets with 8-12 reps.

Q : Which is the muscular group that you really enjoy training on? Or prefered ?

I do not really have one favourite but I prefer to the bodyparts what I have to train with heavy basic exercises. I love training legs, heavy squats as I am pretty strong in the basic exercises. I often think about to try myself out as a powerlifter, because I like the way they compete, love the “You have one chance to do it” kind of feeling and pressure if you know what I mean. They are tough athletes and appreciate their work very much. Back to my favourite bodyparts..I also like training arms chest. I like the pump and heavy presses. 



Q : During your bodybuilding career, was there a moment in which you wanted or wished to give up and dedicate yourself to something else? Or Bodybuilding is your only and biggest passion?


Passion is a great word to describe my feelings and my mentality towards my bodybuilding. Not really have other hobby except that I collect expensive soaps and candles. You know I alwas have this passion for the sports that I actually did in the past. When I was a football player I thought that my destiny is to play in the UEFA Champions League and save penalties(I was a goalkeeper). When I played table tennis I wanted go the Olympic games. I’m a maximalist who never gives up and always wants to peak his best performance.
Many things take my time and I think it’s important to mention that I have university degree in enviromental engineering. Studying has always been easy and fun to me. But after finishing the university I have more time to read about nutrioning and things like this. I also attend to the Medical Highschool to listen to the science of nutritioning. Hopefully this will be my second degree one day.

Q: Which part of the bodybuilding lifestyle you prefer? Training? Cut days? Pump sensation? Fans? Tell us please…
 
I’m not a shy person. I like the so-called hype what competitive bodybuilding offers me. I like to stay in touch with fans and positive people who love sports and also like to train hard. The best thing in this lifestyle is to motivate people to have better and healthier life and tell them that everything depends on what they determine in their mind. As Kai Greene – one of my favourite bodybuilder – says “mind is everything”.
 

Q : Let’s talk about the nutritional aspect, what is the big difference in the type of diet that you follow during an upcoming competition preparation and during off-season or do you follow the same type of diet during both seasons, as long as you maintain a specific weight and physical shape?

I am dieting all year long. The only difference is that I have one cheat day in the offseason. During the precontest diet I never have cheat meal. I usually reduce my carbs intake during the diet and eat more carbs and steak in the off season.
But to
summarize what I’m talking about, here is my off season diet:
1. 120g oat and 60g of whey protein professional from SCITEC NUTRITION
2. 200g steak and half packet(about 62,5g) of brown rice + 200g broccoli
3. 200g steak and half packet(about 62,5g) of brown rice + 200g broccoli
4. 1 big yam with 200g chicken breast + 200g spinach
TRAINING! Before training I take a portion of my favourite precontest shake, BIG BANG(Scitec)
5. Pre workout shake: 50g of Vitargo and 100% Whey protein Professional(Scitec Nutrition)
6. 200g tuna(its canned) + half packet jasmine rice
7. 200g chicken breast + half packet jasmine rice
8. 200g curd cheese with casein protein, Prolong(Scitec)
I also use Multipro which is more than a great multivitamin, L – Glutamin(50g/day) and BCAA6400(30tablets/day) from Scitec Nutrition.

Q : Do you have any new competitons planned for the next agnostic year? If yes, when and where?

I will compete in the 2011 autumn season. I do not really have competition planned as I don’t know the next year calendar. I want to go for European GPs which has prize money. I want to win the national finally because Daniel Tóth likely to become an IFBB Pro in the next year. And I would like to compete in Los Angeles at the Excalibur which was won by Trey Brewer and do as many photoshootings in the U.S. as I can. I want to be an IFBB Pro soon in the coming years and publicity is very important thing in the pro world.


Q : When did you first started training for Bodybuilding and why?

In 2001 March but don’t really have any particular reasons just wanted to be stronger and bigger. I was a goal keeper that time I didn’t get too much chance to play on the field because I’m just 171 cm and too short to be a world class goalkeeper. Finally I had to realize this fact. That’s why I finished football and started to concentrate more on bodybuilding.
 


Q: Was there an episode in your life, tied to Bodybuilding, that gave you a great satisfaction? If yes, can you tell us about it?


I think I can mention my U.S. invitation in the beginning of 2009 what was an undescribeable feeling and experience for me. I was invited by Edward Connors who usually called as an ultimate talent scout in bodybuilding world. He owned the mecca – The Gold’s Gym in Venice – over 25 years and experienced all the things which we called now the golden age in bodybuilding from the 70’ till late 90’. I trained with Jeff Long, who is an IFBB Pro now and had great trainings in the Gold’s gym with my training partners. I get know many people in the industry and have the opportunity to train next to Silvio Samuel, Kai Greene, Dennis James, Tom Prince, Chris Cormier, Flex Lewis, Hidetada Yamagishi, Mark Dugdale, Will Harris and talk with them. Ed is one of the the most helpful and great person I’ve ever met with. I’m very grateful to him.

Q: What is for you , the bodybuilding?
 
It’s about Mindset, Insistence and Discipline. These three words are my password to the success. My role model is Dorian Yates because he has the strength in his body and in his mind as well and has the toughest work ethic amongst the bodyuilder of the past and present.


Q: We know you been in Italy for the “2 torri” competiton and have you ever met any of our Italian Bodybuilders? Right? If yes, what do you think about them? and about Italy? You would like to came back in?

I don’t really know too many bodybuilders in Italy but I know Thomas Benagli personally. He’s a great bodybuilder and good guy. I first met him after the Ironman that I saw live and after the competiton Ed Connors invited him and his friend to a dinner in Hollywood. That was the time I get know him in person. I also met with him in Rimini in 2009. There was a big expo.
Also know Alexandro Savi who is very funny guy and freaky bodybuilder. I think Italian bodybuilding is improving and there will be more and more pro class bodybuilder in the coming the years.
Anyway I love your country. But who doesnt?! I love your kitchen, the pizza, the pasta, the seafoods, everything, the music, the feeling what Italian people give to foreigners. Italian people doesn’t seem to be stressed like Hungarian do. And what I noticed in Rimini that younger Italians are mad about – in a positive way – the fashion. Everybody seemed to step out from the pages of a fashion magazine or something. Awesome!
Italian football is very popular here in Hungary as our football is not so good but improving. One of my favourite players were Del Piero and Gianlugi Buffon when I played football.


Q: Since childhood, did you have an idol..like Arnold, Lou..etc, to whom you looked up to..to follow?

 
Not really but when I started bodybuilding my role model was Johnny Lantos who is a legendary and still active competitor in Hungary. He won the IFBB European Championship overall in 2004. I have the luck that he become my mentor and trainer over the years and still helps me in my career. He’s a friend and a master as well. From the pro world I like Dorian Yates’ style. His mentality is like mine. Also like the way Kai Greene thinks about bodybuilding. 

Q : If any of our members and/or visitors would like to meet you or get in contact with you…where and how can they do that? 

 
I don’t have a website yet but it’s in making. But you can contact me on Facebook as you did.
You can find write me to the gergobog@hotmail.com to have me there for a guest posing and training seminars as well.

Q : Thank you very much for spending some time with us through this interview and hope that I’ll see you in Italy as well, do you have some message you want to comunicate to our readers?

I hope too. Thank you again and I wish all the best for the bodybuilder there in Italy. Train & Eat Hardcore!

_________________________

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO


_________________________

Per prima cosa, grazie di aver accettato il nostro invito per questa intervista per il  nostro sito Culturismo Italiano. Come uno dei più grandi Junior Champ, è un nostro piace averti qui con noi.

 
Q: Salve Gary, presentati i nostri lettori raccontandoci un pò di te

Prima di iniziare, sono io che vi devo ringrazziare per la opportunita’ e mando i miei saluti a tutti i miei fans Italiani e a tutti i culturisti. Amo l’Italia e ho avuto delle grandi esperienze lì dal 2008.
Allora, mi chiamo Gergő Bognár. Ho appena compiuto 24 anni e mi alleno da 10 anni ormai. Gareggio dal 2004, che è stata la mia prima stagione agonistica. Sono Mr. Junior Hungary per 4 volte e anche vincitore del Trofeo Due Torri 2008, Categoria Juniors e due volte Junior World Champion nel WABBA e IBFA, dove ho vinto il titolo Overall di Mr World. Questi sono i miei titoli più rilevanti.
Q: Quali sono i tuoi risultati più importanti nel Bodybuilding ad oggi?
 
Come ho detto prima, ho iniziato a gareggiare nel  2004. A quel tempo, ho vinto il Junior Hungarian Nationals e mi sono aggiudicato il terzo posto nel 75 Kg nelle Nazionali. Poi, un anno dopo, ho vinto di nuovo gli Junior e anche i Nazionali nella cat. 80 KG. Avevo 19anni. Nel 2006, ho solo gareggiato in una sola gara, chiamata Superbody, dove ho vinto il titolo Overall all’ eta di 20 anni. Questa vittoria è unica nel suo genere  perchè normalmente, Bodybuilders sulla trentina vincono l’Overall, e non un atleta categoria Junior. Solo una persona lo ha fatto prima di me, che oggi  è un IFBB PRO, Németh István, o come meglio conoscuto Steve Namat. Poi ho preso un anno di riposo per mettere su un po’ di massa, come sto facendo fin ora e nel 2008, ho gareggiato di nuovo. Ho vinto il IBFA World Champion Overall e ovviamente mi sono aggiundicato il titolo Junior, come ho anche fatto nel 2009 al WABBA nel Super J Class. Ultimamente, non competo nelle Categorie Junior in Ungheria, perchè non mi da quella motivazione che mi dava una volta. Allora, salgo sul palco nelle Open Class, che normalmente vince Daniel Tóth – penso che lo conoscete – allora in questi ultimi anni ho dovuto accontertarmi dei posti bassi, ma mi da piu’ motivazione. Contro, per esempio, i concorrenti nel campionato del mondo.

 
Q: Quali sono state le vittorie che più ti hanno dato soddisfazione fin oggi?
 
Penso che sono gli ultimi due, il titolo IBFA Mr. World e i miei due titoli Junior World Champion. Vorrei anche ricordarmi la mia vittoria del 2006 al Superbody, perchè è stata quella vittoria a suscitare l’interesse del mio sponsor attuale.
Q: Parliamo ora del tuo approccio al bodybuilding lo stile che adotti nel farlo in palestra, qual’è il tuo modo di allenarti?

Di solito mi alleno 5-6 volte a settimana e concentrandomi sui miei punti piu’ deboli due volte a settimana. Per le parti del corpo maggiori, faccio 5-6 esercizzi normalmente e per quelli minori 3-4. Puo’ essere interessante sapere che non alleno le braccia. Sono abbastanza grandi – ora 53-54 cm e non voglio sbilanciare i deltoidi posteriori e il mio fisico in generale. Questi allenamenti sono allenamenti durissimi e non dei giochi in palestra. Di solito mi alleno con alta intensita’ ma non intendo il programma di allenamenti HIT che Dorian fa, anche se mi piace il suo stile e lo schema di allenamento. Spesso faccio supersets e giant sets come Milos Sarcev fa con i suoi clienti e usa 4-5 sets con 8-12 reps.

Q: Hai dei gruppi muscolari preferiti? E ci spieghi meglio come ti comporti in caso di una parte carente del tuo corpo?

 

 Non ho veramente un gruppo particolarmente amato, ma preferisco quelle parti che alleno con allenamenti di base ma davvero pesanti. Mi piace allenare le gambe, squats pesanti vado forte negli esercizi e gli allenamenti di base. Ogni tanto mi metto alla prova come un  powerlifter perchè mi piace il loro modo di competere, mi piace il “hai una sola opportunita’ di farlo” quel tipo di feeling e pressione, se mi capite cosa voglio dire. Sono atleti duri e apprezzo molto il loro lavoro. Torniamo alle mie parti del corpo favorite…mi piace anche allenare il petto. Mi piacciono anche le presse pesanti.
Q: Durante la tua carriera e vita da bodybuilder, ti è mai passato per la mente di dedicarti ad altro, oppure il bodybuilding è la tua unica e sola passione?

Passioneè  una grandissima parola per descrivere i miei sentimenti e la mia mentalita’ verso il bodybuilding. Non ho altri passatempi particolari, eccetto che collezziono saponi costosi e candele. Sapete, da sempre ho questa passione per lo sport cheho fatto anche in passato. Quando ero nella squadra di calcio, pensavo che il mio destino era di giocare nell UEFA Champions League e parare rigori (ero il portiere). Quando giocavo a tennis da tavolo, volevo andare ai giochi Olympici. Sono una persona che vuole dare il massimo, che non si arrende e vuole sempre fare del suo meglio.

Molte di queste cose prendono molto del mio tempo e penso che è importante menzionare che ho una laurea di Unversita’ nel Ingegnieria Ambientale. Studiare per me è sempre stato facile e divertente. Ma dopo che ho finito l’Universita’, ho avuto più tempo per leggere sulla nutrizione. Seguo un corso anche alla Scuola di Medicina per ascoltare le lezioni sulla scienza nutritiva. Sperando che questa sarà la mia seconda laurea un giorno.

Q: Cosa ti piace di più della vita del bodybuilder I viaggi? I fans?Le competizioni? I giorni di sgarro? Gli allenamenti? La sensazione del Pump? Cosa?

Non sono una persona timida e mi piace quella grinta che mi da il Bodybuilding competitivo. Mi piace stare in contatto con i fans e persone positive che amano lo sport e mi piace allenarmi duramente. La cosa piu’ bella in questo stile di vita, è motivare la gente per avere una miglior vita e piu’ salutare e fargli capire che tutto dipende da cosa hanno determinato nella loro mente. Come Kai Green – uno dei miei bodybuilders favoriti dice sempre :  “la mente e’ tutto”.

Q: Ok parliamo del tuo modo di mangiare, sia durante l’offseason che vicino ad una gara, c’è molta differenza in quello che fai?

Sono a dieta tutto l’anno. L’unica differenza è che ho un “cheat day” ( pasto libero) durante l’offseason. Durante il precontest no. Normalmente riduco il mio consumo di carbs durante la dieta pre-gara e mangio piu’ carbs e manzo nel offseason.
In poche parole..ecco la mia dieta off season :
1. 120g orzo e 60g di Whey Protein Professional da SCITEC NUTRITION
2. 200g bistecca e mezzo pacchetto (about 62,5g) di riso bruno + 200g broccoli
3. 200g bistecca e mezzo pacchetto (about 62,5g) di riso bruno + 200g broccoli
4. 1 yam grande con 200g petto di pollo + 200g spinaci
Allenamento! Prima del allenamento prendo una porzione del mio shake preferito, BIG BANG (Scitec) 

5. Pre workout shake: 50g di Vitargo e 100% Whey protein Professional(Scitec Nutrition)
6. 200g tonna(in scatola) + mezzo pacchetto di riso jasmine
7. 200g petto di pollo + mezzo pacchetto di riso jasmine
8. 200g formaggio cremoso con proteine, Prolong(Scitec)
Uso anche Multipro che e’ piu’ di un grandissimo multivitamino, L-Glutamin(50g/day) e BCAA6400(30tablets/day) da Scitec Nutrition.
 

 

Q:  Prossime competizioni in programma?

Gareggerò nel’l Autunno del 2011 Quindi fra poco. e fra l’atro al “Linea &Sport”in Italia, che è un open. Ma non ho propio una competitzione programamta perchè
non ho ancora il calendario compelto comunque. Voglio fare un GP Europeo che ha un montepremi in soldi. Voglio finalmente vincere le Nazionali perche Daniel Tóth molto probabbilmente diventerà un IFBB PRO in quest’anno. E mi piacerebbe competere a Los Angeles all’ Excalibur, che è stato vinto da Trey Brewer e fare molte sessioni fotografiche negli USA. Perchè vorrei diventare un IFBB Pro negli anni a venire e la pubblicità è una cosa molto importante nel mondo dei PRO.
Q:Conosci bodybuilders Italiani?Cosa ne pensi dei nostri atleti?
Non conosco veramente molti dei bodybuilders Italiani ma conosco Thomas Benagli personalmente. Lui e’ un grande Culturista e un bravo ragazzo. L’ho conosciuto per la prima volta dopo l’Ironman, che ho visto dal vivo e dopo la competitzione Ed Connors lo ha invitato e dei suoi amici a cena a Hollywood. Lì l’ho conoscuto di persona. L’ho anche incontrato a Rimini nel 2009. C’era una grande expo.
Conosco anche anche Alessandro Savi, che e’ una persona simpaticissima e un Culturista Freaky. Penso che il Culturismo in Italia sta migliorando e coi passare dei anni, ci saranno piu’ e piu’ Culturisti PRO.
Insomma, amo il vostro paese. E chi non lo fa ?! Amo la vostra cucina, la pizza, la pasta, i frutti di mare, tutto!! La musica, quel senso di accoglienza che gli Italiani danno hai stranieri. Gli Italiani non sembrano cosi stressati come gli Ungheresi. Ho anche notato a Rimini che i giovani Italiani sono pazzi – in un modo positivo- per la moda. Tutti sembrano che sono usciti dalle pagine delle riviste di moda! Stupendo!
Il calcio Italiano e’ popolare qui in Ungeria,  il nostro non e’ cosi buono ma sta migliorando. Uno dei miei calcatori favoriti era Del Piero e Gianluigi Buffon, quando giocavo a calcio.

Q: Chi è stato il tuo modello all’inizio dei tuoi allenamenti? Arnold? Lou? 
 
Non propio, quando ho cominciato il Bodybuilding, il mio modello era Johnny Lantos, che e’ una leggenda e ancora un atleta attivo in Ungheria. Ha vinto il titolo di IFBB European Championship Overall nel 2004. Sono fortunato di averlo come mentore e trainer negl’anni e mi ha aiutato molto  nella mia carriera. E’ un amico e un maestro anche. Dal mondo PRO, mi piace lo stile Dorian Yates. La sua mentalita’ è come la mia. Mi piace anche il modo di pensare di Kai Green sul Bodybuilding.

 



Q: Ok, Gary, se i nostri utenti volessero contattarti come possono fare?


Non ho un sito per ora ma ci sto lavorando. Mi possono contattare su Facebook come hai fatto tu.
Mi possono scrivere su gergobog@hotmail.com per avermi come guest posing e per qualche seminario di allenamento.
Q: Bene, Gary , spero di vederti presto in Italia allora! grazie mille per la tua disponibilità, un ultima cosa che vuoi dire ai nostri lettori?
  
Lo spero anch’io, ci saro’ . Grazie ancora e vi auguro di cuore grandi soddisfazioni per il Bodybuilding in Italia. Allenatevi e mangiate molto!!!
Un pensiero su “Gergő Bognár – Hungarina Bodybuilder Champ”

I commenti sono chiusi.