Intervista a Michael Kefalianos IFBB PRO

Michael Kefalianos 

First of all, thank you for accepting our invitation to be interviewed by our Italian Bodybuilding website. As one of the great European Champions and international PRO IFBB, it is our pleasure to have you here.

Q : Let’s us introduce you, Mr Kefalinos, to those who do not know you yet and are visiting this site….Tell us your name and something about yourself, please…

I’m Michael Kefalianos, I am an IFBB PRO, playing for Australia.I live in Greece with my wife and 4 children. I was born and raised in Greece.
Q : Can you tell us your success during your competition years?
I think my success comes down to wanting to step on the Mr.Olympia stage since I started training 19 years ago.I do what ever my trainer asks of me, never cheat with my meals,and never miss a training session. Basically I have to be very strict with myself.
Q : Can you tell us which is the most important competition result for you?
Australian Grand Prix 2009,I came 4th and got the world card which led me to the Mr.O stage.I was the first Greek to step on this stage, in all time!
Q: When didd you first started training for bodybuilding and why?
 
I started in 1991,I started bodybuilding for fun, I liked seeing muscular bodies, the greek gods, then I grew to love it.
Q: During your bodybuilding career, was there a moment in which you wanted or wished to give up and dedicate yourself to something else? Or Bodybuilding is your only and biggest passion?

No never…It’s my only passion in life!

Q:Since childhood, did you have an idol..like Arnold, Lou..etc, to whom you looked up to..to follow?
From the beginning I worshipped Arnold, then along came the King, Ronnie!!!
Q: What is the training style for a champion like yourself…I mean, the complete training routine?
Monday-legs Tuesday-shoulders Wednesday-back Thursday- back legs Friday-chest Saturday-tri/biceps. And I like training the legs of curs!!! Are my proud!
Q : Let’s talk about the nutritional aspect, what is the big difference in the type of diet that you follow during an upcoming competition preparation and during off-season or do you follow the same type of diet during both seasons, as long as you maintain a specific weight and physical shape? 
 
I keep eating the same foods off season,so I keep my basic shape,I don’t like eating too much fatty foods for 2 reasons,1 you put on fat and 2 my stomach has become sensitive to high calorie foods. My wife cooks light foods,no oily fry ups,so I raise my weight off season without putting on fat.
Q: Was there an episode in your life, tied to Bodybuilding, that gave you a great satisfaction? If yes, can you tell us about it?
uhmmm…yes…Just recently I was signed by MHP,I can say that has been one of the biggest steps and highlights in my career.
Q: During your career in Bodybuilding, did your family support you, incourage you on? And during the Contests, do they cheer you?
 
I have a big support group behind me.My trainer David Balasas,we have been training together for 15 years.Another is my first sponsor Alex Siatravani who has helped me for at least 10 years,he believes in me so much that he took on the MHP line so he doesn’t loose me. Lastly is my wife Helen,she pushes me when I have no more energy,she does all my paperwork,books tickets,internet,cooks all my food and looks after our 4 kids. I thank these people for everything they have done for me,without them my success was not possible. They come to as many contests as they can to cheer me on.
Q:We want to know some about you and your life behind the muscle anche champ…who is Michael Kefalinos?
 

Good question…who is Michael…I am a simple man,I work a taxi all year round,I go supermarket shopping with my wife,go for coffee with my friends,everyone knows me on the island,they are very proud of me also.I am still down to earth,and will be for the rest of my life.

Q: Have you ever been in Italy and have you ever met any of our Italian Bodybuilders? If yes, what do you think about them?
 
I have been to Modena ,If I remember correctly 2007,for a WABBA competition .The Italian athletes were very friendly with me.
Q: You think there’s a difference from European and American Bodybuilders and /or Bodybuilding lifestyles?
I think there is a difference if a bodybuilder has a sponsor.If a pro has no sponsor he pays for everything,he’s not as free to do or go anywhere he wants for competitions.If he has a sponsor behind him he’s a little less stressed. 
Q: Which part of the bodybuilding lifestyle you prefer? Training? Travel and meet more people? Competititons? Fans? Tell us please…
 
After 19 years I still love the gym and training,I feel like my arm is missing if I don’t train everyday. I do love the fans,taking photos with them,and meeting them.
Q : If any of our members and/or visitors would like to meet you or get in contact with you…where and how can they do that?
my contact information is michaelkefalianos@hotmail.com and my web site is michaelkefalianos.com and the fans can add me on Michael Kefalianos B on facebook.


Q : Thank you very much for spending some time with us through this interview and hope that someday we’ll see you in Italy as well, perhaps as a guest star during an event?
 
Of course I would like to do a guest appearance in Italy,or a seminar,I am open to any offers!! Thank you for the opportunity,with this interview my fans in Italy will know.
—————————————————–
Traduzione in Italiano
—————————————————–

 

Q: Salve Mr. Kefalinos, la prego si può presentare a chi non la conosce? Ci dica chi è e qualcosa di lei…
 
Sono Michael Kefalianos, sono un IFBB PRO, gareggio per l’Australia. Vivo in Grecia con mia moglie e i miei 4 figli. Ma sono nato e crescuto in Grecia.
 
Q: Ci parla del suo successo durante questi anni nell’ambito del bodybuilding?
Penso che il mio successo sia dovuto al fatto che volevo calcare il palco del Mr Olympia da quando ho cominciato ad allenarmi, 19 anni fa. Faccio tutto quello che mi chiedere di fare il mio trainer, non baro durante la mia dieta e non salto nessun allenamento. Di base devo essere molto severo con me stesso.
Q: Qual’è stato il suo più grande risultato fin ora, secondo lei? 
L’Australian Grand Prix 2009, sono arrivato 4th e mi sono aggiudicato la World Card che mi ha permesso di salire sul palco di Mr O. Ero il primo Greco a mettere piede su quel palco, da sempre!
Q: Quando ha iniziato ad allenarsi e perchè?
Ho cominciato nel 1991. Ho cominciato solo per divertimento, mi piaceva vedere corpi muscolosi, poi gli dei greci…e poi me ne sono innamorato.
 
Q: Durante la sua carriera h mai pensato di dedicarsi ad altro? O il bodybuilding è la sua più grande passione da sempre?
No mai. E’ la mia sola passione nella vita.
Q: Chi l’ha ispirata come modello, sin da piccolo, nell’ambito del bodybuilding?
Prima Arnold, ma poi venne il RE….Ronnie Coleman!
Q: Come si allena un campione del suo calibro?
In maniera molto semplice in realtà. Lunedi – gambe; Martedi – spalle; Mercoledi – schiena; Giovedi – polpacci; Venerdi – petto; Sabato- tri/bicipiti. E adoro allenare le gambe! sono orgoglioso dei risultati sui muscoli delle gambe.
Q: Parliamo di nutrizione, c’è molta differenza da quello che fa fra in season e off season?
No in realtà non molta, continuo a mangiare le stesse cose nel off season, cosi tengo sempre la mia forma di base. Non mi piace mangiare troppo cibo grasso per due ragioni : 1) ti fa ingrassare e 2) il mio stomaco diventa sensibile ai cibi con alto livello di calorie. Mia moglie cucina leggero, niente fritto e olio, cosi aumento il mio peso durante l’off season senza mettere su dei grassi. 😉
 
D: C’è un episodio legato al body building che le ha dato grande soddisfazione personale?
Di recente sono stato scritturato da MHP (nota ditta di integratori), devo dire che e’ stata una delle mete piu’ grandi della mia carriera.
Q: Durante la sua carriera agonistica, la sua famiglia la continua a supportare, l’aiuta nelle sue preparazioni? Tifano per lei?
Ho un vero e proprio gruppo di sostegno dietro di me. 🙂 Il mio trainer David Balasas, ci alleniamo insieme da 15 anni. Un altro è il mio primo sponsor Alex Siatravani che mi ha aiutati per al meno 10 anni, crede in me cosi tanto che mi ha messo lui in contatto con qeulli della MHP, cosi non mi perde di vista. In fine mia moglie Helen, che mi incoraggia quando mi mancano le energie, lei fa tutto il lavoro “burocratico” diciamo, prenota i biglietti , internet, mi cucina da mangiare e si prende cura dei nostri 4 figli. Ringrazio queste persone per tutto quello che fanno per me, senza di loro il mio successo non sarebbe possibile. Loro vengo a più gare che possono per fare il tifo per me.

Q: Ora una domanda più personale, chi è Michael Kefalinos? Senza i muscoli evidenti e i titoli vinti, chi è l’uomo dentro l’atleta? 

Uhmmm…bella domanda…chi è Michael….Sono un uomo semplice, lavoro come tassista tutto l’anno, vado al supermercato con mia moglie, vado per un caffe’ con i miei amici, tutti mi conoscono sull’isola e sono anche fieri di me. Ma ho ancora i piedi per terra e lo saranno per il resto della mia vita.
Q: Le è mai capitato di gareggire in Italia o contro Bodybuilders Italiani?
…come PRO si…ma se non ricordo male la prima e unica volta in Italia è stata per una gara WABBA, Gli atelti italiani sono stati molto simpatici e amichevoli nei mie confronti.
 
Q: Secondo lei quali sono le differenze più importanti fra bodybuilders europei e americani?
Penso c’e differenza se il bodybuilder ha un sponsor o no. Se il bodybuilder professionista non ha un sponsor, deve pagare tutto lui, non è libero di fare o di andare dove vuole per le gare. Se ha uno sponsor che lo sostenga, è meno stressante.
Q: Cosa le piace di più dello stile di vita del bodybuilder?
Dopo 19 anni, mi piace ancora andare in palestra e allenarmi. Mi sento come se mi manca un braccio se non mi alleno ogni giorno. E amo i miei fans, scattare foto con loro e incontrarli.
Q: Se i nostri lettori volessero contattarla come pososno fare?
Possono mettersi in contatto con me su michaelkefalianos@hotmail.come sul mio sito michaelkefalianos.com e i fans possono aggiungermi su Facebook, mi trovano come Michael Kefalianos B
Q: Grazie mille per essere stato qui con noi, e chissà magari un giorno potremo averla in Italia come guest poser? Che ne pensa?
Certo che mi piacerebbe fare una guest poser in Italia o un seminario, considero’ ogni offerta. Grazie della opportunita’, con questa intervista, mi conosceranno anche i miei fans in Italia
 
Un pensiero su “Intervista a Michael Kefalianos IFBB PRO”

I commenti sono chiusi.